Shelved Under Murder

  • Author: Victoria Glibert
  • Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
  • Print Length: 336 pages
  • Release Date: July 10, 2018
  • I Rate it:    
  • GenreCozy
  • Purchase on Amazon

Book Summary

Autumn leaves aren’t the only things falling in the historic Virginia village of Taylorsford—so are some cherished memories, and a few bodies.

October in Taylorsford, Virginia means it’s leaf peeping season, with bright colorful foliage and a delightful fresh crew of tourists attending the annual Heritage Festival which celebrates local history and arts and crafts. Library director Amy Webber, though, is slightly dreading having to spend two days running a yard sale fundraiser for her library. But during these preparations, when she and her assistant Sunny stumble across a dead body, Amy finds a real reason to be worried.

The body belonged to a renowned artist who was murdered with her own pallet knife. A search of the artist’s studio uncovers a cache of forged paintings, and when the sheriff’s chief deputy Brad Tucker realizes Amy is skilled in art history research, she’s recruited to aid the investigation. It doesn’t seem to be an easy task, but when the state’s art expert uncovers a possible connection between Amy’s deceased uncle and the murder case, Amy must champion her Aunt Lydia to clear her late husband’s name.

That’s when another killing shakes the quiet town, and danger sweeps in like an autumn wind. Now, with her swoon-inducing neighbor Richard Muir, Amy must scour their resources to once again close the books on murder in Shelved Under Murder, the charming second installment in Victoria Gilbert’s Blue Ridge Library mysteries, perfect for fans of Jenn McKinlay and Miranda James.

Write Now Literary Book Tours - Taffy Book Blast Tour

About The Author

Victoria Gilbert, raised in the shadow of the Blue Ridge Mountains, turned her early obsession with reading into a dual career as an author and librarian.

The first book in her Blue Ridge Library Mystery series -- A MURDER FOR THE BOOKS -- was a Fall 2017 OKRA pick from SIBA and was longlisted for the Southern Book Prize. Both A MURDER FOR THE BOOKS and the second book in the series, SHELVED UNDER MURDER (July 2018) have been optioned by Sony Pictures Television.

Victoria is a member of Sisters in Crime, International Thriller Writers, and Mystery Writers of America. When not writing or reading, she likes to spend her time watching films, gardening, or traveling. She lives in North Carolina with her husband, son, and some very spoiled cats.

Victoria Gilbert

Book Review by Bree Herron

As a former librarian it is so easy for me to fall in love with mysteries set in a library. It might have to do with the nostalgia that is provided with the thought of shelving books or the smell of a new fall day walking into the library. No matter what draws me in, I stay and fall in love with the story, characters and setting. That leads me to this novel, not only will you want to cozy up with this story, but you will also want fall to be here. Pumpkin spice latte, anyone?

Characters

Amy is that librarian that you wish was your BFF. She is fun, smart and down right charming. Plus she loves her job and community which speaks strongly to how she handles solving mysteries. She doesn’t race to conclusions, but dissects the options and follows the clues.  It is fun to solve mysteries with her, and I don’t feel myself racing past her to the answers.

Setting

Another place I want to visit again and again. From the charming library to the community, Taylorsford is a place that should be real. At least through the series we get to visit it often (or I hope). Fall in this mystery is probably my favorite season ever depicted. I could seriously feel the breeze and smell the leaves from the pages of the book!

Synoptic

I hope it is pretty clear that I really enjoyed this book.  If you look for mysteries that will have you in step with the character and falling in love with the setting, this is the book for you. Those that are passionate for the autumn season will find themselves as excited as I am after reading this book for the crisp air.

I Rate it

What’s your favorite season?

**DISCLAIMER: I was provided an opportunity to read this book as an Advanced Reader Copy in return for a fair and honest review.

Giveaway

Want a chance to win this book? Click away here for your entry!

Professional Reader Affiliates

NetGalley Professional Reader Frequently Auto-Approved200 Book Reviews2016 NetGalley ChallengeReviews PublishedGreat Escape Tour HostBethanyHouse Blogger Reviewer

Peruse My Other Reviews

  • Bloodline: A Witch Cat Mystery
  • Shadow of the Storm
  • Presumption and Partiality by Rebekah Jones
  • Confessions of a Red Herring
  • Bed and Breakfast and Murder
  • Walk it Out
  • The Lacemaker
  • Stephanie Smith
  • Dare to Begin Again by Rosalinda Rivera
  • First Line Friday with Bibliophile Reviews
  • Booked 4 Murder
  • Dressed to Kill
  • Dandelion Dead
  • Deadly Dog Days
  • Back Stabbers by Julie Mulheron
  • Single Malt Murder: A Whisky Business Mystery
  • First Line Friday with Bibliophile Reviews
  • First Line Friday with Bibliophile Reviews
  • First Line Friday with Bibliophile Reviews
  • Ask Me No Questions: A Lady Dunbridge Mystery
  • Dead Cold Brew
  • The Detecting Duchess (Victorian Bookshop Mystery) (Volume 5)
  • Marriage Is Pure Murder (A Blossom Valley Mystery)
  • Wrapped in God's Grace
  • A Palette for Murder
  • Joey
  • Julie Seedorf
  • Hidden Among The Stars by Melanie Dobson
  • Running Out of Time
  • Self Serve Murder
  • The Final Vow---A Living History Museum Mystery

Affiliate Disclosure

I am grateful to be of service and bring you content free of charge. In order to do this, please note that when you click links and purchase items, in most (not all) cases I will receive a referral commission. Your support in purchasing through these links supplements the costs of keeping my website up and running, and is very much appreciated!

1 Comment

  1. Victoria Gilbert

    Thanks so much for participating in the blog tour and for the review!

    Reply

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to Get My Latest Book Reviews

Join my mailing list to receive the latest and greatest delivered right to your inbox.

You have successfully subscribed! Please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Share This