Fat Cat Takes The Cake

Fat Cat Takes The Cake
  • Author: Janet Cantrell
  • Publisher: Berkley
  • Print Length: 303 pages
  • Release Date: April 5, 2016
  • I Rate it:
  • GenreCozy
  • Purchase on Amazon

Book Summary

Quincy the butterscotch tabby has a talent for sniffing out sweets—and uncovering crimes—in this Fat Cat mystery from the national bestselling author of Fat Cat Spreads Out.

When their former classmate Richard “Dickie” Byrd throws a high school reunion to gather support for his mayoral campaign, it drums up some not-so-sweet memories for dessert shop proprietor Chase Oliver and her friend Julie Larson. Julie would rather not reconnect with Ron North, the creepy kid who had a crush on her back in the day. His social graces haven’t exactly improved with age, but is he creepy enough to kill?

The next day, Chase is in the park testing a new cat harness for Quincy, who quickly proves that he cannot be leashed. But when his escape leads Chase to Ron’s body, the police wonder who else got away. Now, with Julie suspected of murder, Chase must prove her innocence before the real killer plans another fatal reunion.

About The Author

Janet Cantrell is a pen name for Kaye George, Agatha nominated novelist and short story writer. She belongs to Sisters in Crime, Guppies, and Austin Mystery Writers. Her cozy Fat Cat mystery series debuts in September of 2014 with FAT CAT AT LARGE, featuring Quincy, a pudgy, adorable cat who is an accomplished escape artist. Especially when he’s on a diet and hungry. Leave it to Quincy to lead his human, Chase, co-owner of a Minneapolis dessert bar shop, into trouble. Janet lives in Knoxville TN with her husband. Her recently departed feline, Agamemnon, is a source for some of Quincy’s antics.

Janet Cantrell

Professional Reader Affiliates

NetGalley Professional Reader Frequently Auto-Approved 200 Book Reviews 2016 NetGalley Challenge Reviews Published Great Escape Tour Host BethanyHouse Blogger Reviewer

Peruse My Other Reviews

  • Love Again, Live Again
  • Dressed for Death in Burgundy
  • Falling for the Cowgirl
  • Murder She Wrote: A Date with Murder
  • Marigolds For Malice
  • The Victorian Christmas Brides
  • One Taste Too Many
  • Author Spotlight—Lesley A. Diehl
  • High as the Heavens
  • Top 5 Christian Authors of 2016
  • A Crafter Hooks a Killer
  • Top 5 Cozy Authors of 2016
  • The Spirit in Question
  • Firecrackered: An Essie Cobb Senior Sleuth Mystery
  • A Vast and Gracious Tide
  • The Good, the Bad and the Guacamole
  • Project Duchess
  • A Tale of Two Kitties
  • Secrets and Pies
  • Murder for the Time Being
  • Love, Amy
  • Murder in an Irish Churchyard
  • Cherished Mercy
  • Down in Flames
  • Dyeing Up Loose Ends
  • Murder Wears Mittens
  • Plain Everyday Heroes
  • The Beginner's Bible
  • John - Journible the 17:18 Series
  • Dead in the Water
  • Argosy Junction
  • Surround Me- Marguerite Martin Gray
  • Rebecca’s Legacy
  • The Memory of You
  • No Way Home

Affiliate Disclosure

I am grateful to be of service and bring you content free of charge. In order to do this, please note that when you click links and purchase items, in most (not all) cases I will receive a referral commission. Your support in purchasing through these links supplements the costs of keeping my website up and running, and is very much appreciated!


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to Get My Latest Book Reviews

Join my mailing list to receive the latest and greatest delivered right to your inbox.

You have successfully subscribed! Please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Share This