A Death at the Yoga Café

A Death at the Yoga Cafe
  • Author: Michelle Kelly
  • Publisher: Minotaur Books
  • Print Length: 272 pages
  • Release Date: January 31, 2017
  • I Rate it:    
  • GenreCozy
  • Purchase on Amazon

Book Summary

Keeley Carpenter has found her center. After returning to Befrey, the traditional English village she called home ten years ago, she’s opened her dream yoga café, which doubles as both a yoga studio and a delicious vegetarian café. Even better, Keeley is dating handsome Detective Ben Taylor, and things are beginning to look serious.

Too bad things never seem to run smoothly for long. Eager to get involved with the local community, Keeley sets up a booth at the annual Belfrey Arts Festival, along with her nemesis, fellow small business owner Raquel. Preparing herself to play nice, she’s shocked when Raquel’s boyfriend, Town Mayor Gerald, is found dead after a public spat. Despite Ben’s strict warnings to stay out of it, Keeley isn’t going to let an innocent woman take the blame for the murder—even if it is glamorous, spoiled Raquel.

Now Keeley must balance a precarious murder investigation with the demands of her growing business and now-strained relationship. But when the killer takes a personal interest in Keeley, can she find the culprit before she gets bent out of shape? Charming and delicious, this cozy follow up to Downward Facing Death features recipes from Keeley’s café and is perfect for fans of Cleo Coyle and Laura Childs

About The Author

MICHELLE KELLY is a writer living in Coventry, UK. Her recent Harlequin crime novel When I Wasn’t Watching went to number 1 in the UK and Australian crime charts. She is a passionate yoga practitioner and finds that, as the mother of two teenagers, her yoga practice keeps her sane. The Keeley Carpenter stories marry her three great loves; yoga, food, and murder mysteries.

Michelle has been writing for a living since 2013 after seven years as a literacy teacher. She still teaches a creative writing course .Michelle is the author of historical romance books 'The Virgin Courtesan' 'Borgia Fever' and 'The Rake of Glendir' for Harlequin Mills and Boon and a paranormal romantic suspense series for Xcite Books beginning with 'The Lady is a Vamp'. She also writes crime, with her first contemporary thriller 'When I Wasn't Watching' published August 2014 with Harlequin Carina and reaching number one in the Kindle charts. The sequel 'Eyes Wide Open' was released in May 2015. Michelle is currently working on a cozy mystery series featuring yoga instructor Keeley Carpenter. These will be published by St Martins Press in the US and the first in the series 'Downward Facing Death' will be released in January 2016.

Michelle Kelly

Book Review by Bree Herron

I love cozy mysteries, the charming towns, the characters and the murder. I was really excited to read this book as it also has yoga, prior to coming across this book, the only other yoga mysteries I have known of are by Tracy Weber. I was certainly excited and had high hopes for this book. I wasn’t let down, in fact it blew me away.

First off, Keeley has this energy about her that made me gravitate to her story. And as the second book in the series, I loved that she as a character shared back story and growth. I really loved the unique poses for yoga added to the end of each chapter. Simple poses that were well detailed, described easy to follow. In fact they helped with the enjoyment of the book! This author,Michelle Kelly is on to something with her style of cozy. It felt interactive.  The mystery was so well done that I was actually turned around and surprised at the killer! This book gives you the just the right amount of suspense and clues to keep you going then, it does a change on it’s page to a never thought of killer.

Secondly, the recipes oh be still my starving stomach. How could these recipes be anything but amazing?!  Seriously you will be rushing to the market after reading this book. This is a great way to this blogger’s book heart.

I really hope that readers looking for a unique style in a cozy mystery will check out this fun, exciting and very deserving of five stars book to satisfy their reading needs. This is the book to make you feel energized and intrigued while awaiting the next msytery!

I Rate it

Please join the conversation and comment below. Have you read… If so what did you think/like?

**DISCLAIMER: I was provided an opportunity to read this book as an Advanced Reader Copy in return for a fair and honest review.

Professional Reader Affiliates

NetGalley Professional Reader 100 Book Reviews 2016 NetGalley Challenge Reviews Published Great Escape Tour Host BethanyHouse Blogger Reviewer

Peruse My Other Reviews

  • Seven Brides for Seven Mail-Order Husbands
  • Linda Crowder
  • Something Foul at Sweetwater
  • Marguerite Martin Gray
  • The Seven-Course Christmas Killer
  • A Fatal Twist
  • Surround Me
  • A Royal Christmas Wedding
  • Raging Storm
  • The Wedding Shop
  • New Year's Revolutions
  • Murder Strikes a Pose
  • Blogger Carrie Schimt
  • A Crime of Passion Fruit (A Bakeshop Mystery)
  • Maggie Dove's Detective Agency
  • Behind the Scenes (Apart From the Crowd)
  • Final Verdict (Love Inspired Suspense)
  • The Blue Ribbon Brides Collection
  • Barbara Early - Death of a Toy Solcier
  • Never Forget
  • Kneaded to Death
  • Key to a Murder
  • Top 5 Cozy Authors of 2016
  • The Garden - Kari Jobe
  • Shades of Wrath
  • Love Found In Sherwood Forest
  • Return to Huckleberry Hill (The Matchmakers of Huckleberry Hill)
  • The Clock Strikes Nun (A Giulia Driscoll Mystery) (Volume 4)
  • Bed and Breakfast and Murder
  • Author Spotlight - Debra Marvin
  • Someplace Familiar: A Laurel Cove Romance
  • Murder is no Accident
  • A Secret Courage (The London Chronicles)
  • The Blue Ribbon Brides Collection

Affiliate Disclosure

I am grateful to be of service and bring you content free of charge. In order to do this, please note that when you click links and purchase items, in most (not all) cases I will receive a referral commission. Your support in purchasing through these links supplements the costs of keeping my website up and running, and is very much appreciated!

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This

Subscribe to Get My Latest Book Reviews

Join my mailing list to receive the latest and greatest delivered right to your inbox.

You have successfully subscribed! Please check your email to confirm your subscription.