A Composition in Murder

A Composition in Murder
  • Author: Larissa Reinhart
  • Publisher: Henry Press
  • Print Length: 266 pages
  • Release Date: November 15, 2016
  • I Rate it:    
  • GenreCozy
  • Purchase on Amazon

Book Summary

With a new art-teaching gig at Halo House—Halo, Georgia’s posh independent living home—and Halo society scrutinizing her family and her love life, Cherry Tucker’s vowed to stay out of trouble. However, her sleuthing skills are sought by Halo House’s most famous resident: Belvia Brakeman, the ninety-year-old, blind CEO and founder of Meemaw’s Tea. Belvia confides in Cherry that the family tea empire is in jeopardy. The CEO suspects her daughter, the COO, has been murdered and she might be next. Her offer is hard to refuse, but will have Cherry treading on Forks County Sheriff toes, namely her personal Deputy Heartache, Luke Harper.

Amid her town troubles, can Cherry put her reputation, romance, and life on the line for the final request of a sweet tea tycoon? While she juggles senior citizen shenanigans, small town politics, and corporate family scandals, Cherry finds the sweet tea business cutthroat in more ways than one.

About The Author

Larissa considers herself lucky to have taught English in Japan, escaped a ferocious monkey in Thailand, studied archaeology in Egypt, and survived teaching high school history in the US. However, adopting her daughters from China has been her most rewarding experience. After moving around the Midwest, the South and Japan, her home address is Peachtree City, Georgia.

However, in June 2015, she and her husband, daughters, and little dog, Biscuit, moved back to Nagoya, Japan, where she continues to write.

She loves small town characters with big attitudes, particularly sassy women with a penchant for trouble. The Cherry Tucker Mystery series with Henery Press begins with Portrait of a Dead Guy (August 28, 2012), a 2012 Daphne du Maurier finalist, a 2012 The Emily finalist, and a 2011 Dixie Kane Memorial winner. Following Portrait are Still Life in Brunswick Stew, (May 21, 2013), the 2014 Georgia Author of the Year and Silver Falchion nominee, Hijack in Abstract (November 5, 2013), and Death in Perspective (June 24, 2014) follow. The fifth Cherry Tucker mystery, The Body in the Landscape, released December 15, 2015. The Cherry Tucker novella, Quick Sketch, in the mystery anthology Heartache Motel (December 10, 2013) is a prequel to Portrait.

Larissa Reinhart

Book Review by Bree Herron

Cherry Tucker is back! A charming character, with witty sayings and of course a paintbrush for murder.

I was unsure what to expect reading the sixth book in the series out of order. But it is easily a stand alone. I loved getting to meet Cherry, is this beautiful (in my mind) artist that is a free spirit. She has unique relationships, and of course she has a dashing man of the law that is smitten with her. Cozy characters always get the good looking boyfriends.

Beyond, the relationships Cherry is actually a great amateur investigator. She is making a name for herself! Her Matlock moments are paying off, and I love her moments.  Cherry tends to have some wonderful flashes to the show, and to the character. She uses wit to help her solve the murders, and crimes. This murder was one (a mentioned accident) I could see coming, but the twists and turns lead the reader to a conclusion not easily seen coming.  The book is well set, the characters are strong, and smart! I love smart characters. I love Halo,GA the town it is set in. It seems so charming, and quirky. I love when there is a mixture of ages in the characters, and the fact that Cherry works at a senior living center, makes my heart soar to read more.

If you enjoy charming, unique characters, and a fun little town in your books, I highly suggest reading this book and diving into the series. Cherry will grab your mystery, loving heart!

I Rate it

What draws you into the story?

**DISCLAIMER: I was provided an opportunity to read this book as an Advanced Reader Copy in return for a fair and honest review.

Blog Stops

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

November 14 – Laura’s Interests – REVIEW

November 14 – Books,Dreams,Life – SPOTLIGHT  

November 15 – Grace. Gratitude. Life. by Marie McNary – REVIEW

November 15 – Sleuth Cafe – SPOTLIGHT

November 16 – THE PULP AND MYSTERY SHELF – INTERVIEW

November 17 – The Broke Book Bank – REVIEW

November 18 – Varietats – INTERVIEW

November 19 – Brooke Blogs – INTERVIEW, SPOTLIGHT

November 20 – A Holland Reads – SPOTLIGHT

November 21 – Community Bookstop – REVIEW  

November 21 – The Girl with Book Lungs – SPOTLIGHT

November 22 – Island Confidential – INTERVIEW, SPOTLIGHT

November 23 – StoreyBook Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

November 24 – THANKSGIVING U.S.

November 25 – Bibliophile Reviews – REVIEW

November 26 – 3 Partners in Shopping, Nana, Mommy, &, Sissy, Too! – SPOTLIGHT

November 27 – Cozy Up With Kathy – INTERVIEW

November 28 – Jersey Girl Book Reviews – REVIEW

November 29 – A Chick Who Reads – REVIEW

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Larissa is giving away a $20 Starbucks card with a Cherry Tucker swag pack and Japanese candy. To enter click HERE.

Professional Reader Affiliates

NetGalley Professional Reader 100 Book Reviews 2016 NetGalley Challenge Reviews Published Great Escape Tour Host BethanyHouse Blogger Reviewer

Peruse My Other Reviews

  • Rstoring Love by Jennifer Slattery
  • Swiss Vendetta
  • The Honeybee Sisters Cookbook
  • A Heartwarming Thanksgiving
  • Linda Rawlins - Rocky Meadow Mysteries series
  • Hold Me Close by Marguerite Martin Gray
  • Maggie Dove's Detective Agency
  • What the Bishop Saw (The Amish Bishop Mysteries)
  • Eden: The Animals Parable
  • Of Cats and Men: Profiles of History's Great Cat-Loving Artists, Writers, Thinkers, and Statesmen
  • When the Grits Hit the Fan (A Country Store Mystery)
  • Christmas Lights
  • A Lady Unrivaled
  • Wrapped in God's Grace
  • Murder is no Accident
  • Kathi Daley in Paradise
  • War of the Heart
  • The Lost Heiress
  • Rstoring Love by Jennifer Slattery
  • Murder, Curlers & Cream
  • Wrapped in God's Grace
  • OFFed Stage Left
  • Behind the Scenes (Apart From the Crowd)
  • Called to Justice (A Quaker Midwife Mystery)
  • Curried Away
  • Egg Drop Dead
  • Single Malt Murder: A Whisky Business Mystery
  • Tightropes and Teeter-Totters
  • Christmas at Swans Nest
  • The Mark of the King
  • The French Chef in America
  • Masking for Trouble
  • Occult and Battery (A Bay Island Psychic Mystery)
  • First Line Friday with Bibliophile Reviews
  • First Line Friday with Bibliophile Reviews
  • Happy Homicides 4: Fall Into Crime

Affiliate Disclosure

I am grateful to be of service and bring you content free of charge. In order to do this, please note that when you click links and purchase items, in most (not all) cases I will receive a referral commission. Your support in purchasing through these links supplements the costs of keeping my website up and running, and is very much appreciated!

1 Comment

  1. Larissa Reinhart

    Thank so much for this wonderful review, Bree! I love the way you put words together! Made my day!

    Reply

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share This

Subscribe to Get My Latest Book Reviews

Join my mailing list to receive the latest and greatest delivered right to your inbox.

You have successfully subscribed! Please check your email to confirm your subscription.